Databases A-Z

Databases by Title:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z List All
19th Century US Newspapers – Primary source newspaper content from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among others.
ABI/Inform Dateline – Business, Economics: local and regional business publications.
ABI/Inform Global– Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry – Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals.
Academic Onefile – A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.
Academic Search EliteA multi-disciplinary database containing more than 2,100 journals.
Accounting & Tax – Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection (HEB) – An online, fully searchable collection of 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences. Frequently cited in the literature, these titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies and include many prize-winning works. Users may also access online book reviews from the major journals.
AMA Manual Of Style – American Medical Association Manual of Style Online – full access to the AMA style Manual of Style, 10th edition.
America’s Historical Newspapers – Collection of various historical newspapers from across New York State.
Ancestry.com – Genealogical research database that includes census records as well as church, court, military, immigration and naturalization records from the United States and around the world.
Applied Social Sciences Index & AbstractsAn indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Art Full TextIn addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.
Article First – OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
ARTStor – A digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools. ARTstor contains approx.700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Back to top
Banking Information Source – Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
Black Newspapers – A collection of significant Black newspapers from the United States.
Book Review Digest: 1903-1982 – Provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of fiction and non-fiction.
Business & Company Resource Center – Replaced by Business Insights: Essentials. See below.
Business Insights: Essentials – Business reference information, including company fundamentals and histories, investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, and market share data.
Business Source Premier – Country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Back to top
Camio – Catalog of art images online. About 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media.
Chicago Manual of Style – Since 1906, the Style Manual for research in the Humanities.
CINAHL – Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Cochrane Library – A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
CQ Researcher Online – Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. more…
Credo Reference – An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, biography, quotations and more.
Custom Newspapers – Features newspapers from around the globe plus additional sources of selected news and business coverage.
Back to top
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text – Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Ebook Central – A collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
Ebscohost Ebook Collection – A collection of over 50,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Education in Video – A collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Electronic Collections Online – A collection of scholarly journals.
Electronic Journal Service (EJS) – A gateway to electronic journal content
ERIC – The Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Back to top
Gale Virtual Reference Library –  Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in business, science, health references, and specialized reference sources.
General Onefile – A general periodical database containing thousands of periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources.
Google Scholar – Scholarly information on the web.
GPO Monthly Catalog – U.S government publications.
Greenfile – Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Back to top
Health Reference Center Academic – Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition – Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
Historical NewpapersBoston Globe (1872 – 1979), Hartford Courant (1764-1985),  New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993).
Human Anatomy Atlas – This interactive, 3D visualization and learning tool allows users to explore 4,000+ medically accurate anatomical structures, including all major organs and systems of the male and female body.
Allows users to:

  • Rotate, zoom in/out, see through, add/remove structures
  • Select structures to view definitions with Latin terms and hear pronunciations
  • View animated models of muscle actions
  • View descriptions of common diseases for body systems
  • Take quizzes for self-assessment
  • Download the app for iPhone, iPad, and Android
Humanities International Complete – Comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full-text content from sources around the world.
Back to top
International Encyclopedia of Social SciencesCovers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition.
[email protected] – A selection of high quality medical and scientific journals from the top publishers worldwide. The Ovid Platform also provides access to the Lippincott/Springhouse Nursing E-book Collection.
JSTOR Language & Literature – This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian, and German.
Back to top
Lexis Nexis Academic – Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business legal & medical research needs of academic institutions.
Literary Reference Center – A literary database that combines information from books, monographs, reference works and journals.
Lippincott/Springhouse Nursing Ebook Collection – Provides access to practical, day-to-day reference guides such as Nettina: Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice and Carpenito: Nursing Care Plans and Documentation, as well as references for updating specialized clinical skills, such as Cardiac Nursing and Fluid and Electrolyte Balance.
Back to top
Medline – Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook – Information and reviews of English language standardized testing covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, as well as psychology and related areas.
Military & Government Collection – Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
MLA International Bibliography – A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association.
My Modern Met – Metropolitan Museum of Art Digital Images.
Back to top
National Criminal Justice Reference Service – A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Newspapers – Access to the indexing of America’s top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
New York State Newspapers – Newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
Newspaper Source – Provides full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers and selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Nursing & Allied Health – Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
Back to top
Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
Oxford Art Online – Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History – Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering for the first time in one reference work the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History – Articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries on inventors, theoreticians, industry leaders, markets, industries, and labor.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History – Four-volume work covering the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.
Oxford English Dictionary Online – Provides online access to the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary and 3-volume Additions Series.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History – Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.
Back to top
PapersFirst – Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
PAIS International – Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations.
Physical Education Index – A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more.
Proceedings – Index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Professional Development Collection – Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports. more…
Proquest Central – Comprehensive research databases covering nearly every academic discipline.
Proquest News & Newspapers – a full collection of newspapers.
PsycARTICLES – A source of full-text scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by APA and allied organizations.
PsycBOOKS – A database of book chapters from books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
Psychiatry Online – An online collection of key resources for mental health professionals. Includes DSM-V.
PsycINFO – Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.
Psychotherapy.net – Streaming video collection featuring demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions, covering a wide range of modalities, populations and approaches.
PubMed – The search service for National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Back to top
Sage Publications – A collection of over 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Science Direct – A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences & humanities
Snapshot Series – International market research overviews.
Slavery and Anti-SlaveryA digital archive in four series devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America.
Social Services Abstracts – Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts – Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
SPORTDiscus – Comprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.
Thomas – Library of Congress Portal to legislative activity of Congress.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2011Full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory – A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
Value Line – Financial data and analysis from Value Line’s publications, covering stocks, mutual funds, options, convertible securities, and more.
Back to top
WestlawNext – Legal database, includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.
Women’s Studies International – Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Back to top