Health Sciences

Designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration, covering a wide range of topics from business and personnel management, to ethics, law, and public health administration.

Subject Librarians
NursingLisa Brainard, [email protected], (518) 292-1959
PT/OT – Terry Wasielewski, [email protected], (518) 244-2435
Nutrition – Regina Vertone, [email protected], 518-292-1784
See also: Creative Arts Therapy Research Guide

See also: Health Services Administration Research Guide

See also: Nursing Research Guide

See also: Nutrition Research Guide

See also: Occupational Therapy Research Guide

See also: Physical Therapy Research Guide

See also: Public Health Policy Guide

Academic Onefile – A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Elite – A multi-disciplinary database containing more than 2,100 journals.
AMA Manual Of StyleAmerican Medical Association Manual of Style Online – full access to the AMA style Manual of Style, 10th edition.
CINAHL – Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Cochrane Library A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Credo Reference – Background information on topics, from online reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and more.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text – Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Ebook Central – A collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
Ebscohost Ebook Collection – A collection of over 50,000 ebooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in business, science, health references, and specialized reference sources.
Health Reference Center Academic Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition – Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
Human Anatomy Atlas Online – This interactive, 3D visualization and learning tool allows users to explore 4,000+ medically accurate anatomical structures, including all major organs and systems of the male and female body.
[email protected] – A selection of high quality medical and scientific journals from the top publishers worldwide. The Ovid Platform also provides access to the Lippincott/Springhouse Nursing E-book Collection.
LexisNexis Academic – Replaced by Nexis Uni.
MedlineProduced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Nexis Uni – Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Nursing & Allied Health – Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
Proquest Health & Medicine Collection – In-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications covering all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
Proquest Health Management Database –  Designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration, covering a wide range of topics from business and personnel management, to ethics, law, and public health administration.
Psychotherapy.Net – Streaming video collection featuring demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions, covering a wide range of modalities, populations and approaches.

The Psychotherapy.net collection is split between two sites:

PubMed – The search service for National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Sage Journal PortalSearch thousands of online journals including Health Sciences.
SAGE Research Methods Video Collection – Contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more–covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Science Direct – A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences & humanities.
SPORTDiscus – Comprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.