History

Subject Librarian: Kelly Grant, [email protected], (518) 244-2471
See also: History Research Guide
19th Century US Newspapers – Primary source newspaper content from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among others.
Academic Search Elite (Ebsco) – A multi-disciplinary database containing more than 2,100 journals.
America’s Historical NewspapersCollection of various historical newspapers from across New York State.
Ancestry.com – Genealogical research database that includes census records as well as church, court, military, immigration and naturalization records from the United States and around the world.
Chicago Manual of StyleSince 1906, the Style Manual for research in the Humanities.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World– The renowned geographic encyclopedia.
Credo Reference – An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books including history.
DPLA: Digital Public Library Of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Ebook Central – A collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
Ebscohost Ebook Collection – A collection of over 50,000 ebooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Historical NewspapersBoston Globe (1872 – 1979), Hartford Courant (1764-1985),  New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993).
Historical Newspapers from Across New York StateAmerica’s Historical Newspaper Collection.
History Journals Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including history & archaeology.
JSTOR  Good for book reviews. This collection spans the cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian, and German.
Library of Congress Digital collections include American memory, historic newspapers, veterans history and more.
Making of America – A digital library of primary sources in American social history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History – Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering for the first time in one reference work the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History – Articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries on inventors, theoreticians, industry leaders, markets, industries, and labor.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Four-volume work covering the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.
Slavery and Anti-SlaveryA digital archive in four series devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America.
StatistaGreat source for statistics. Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English and German. According to the company, the platform has statistics on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2011Full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
U.S. History Collection (Gale) – a customized selection of journals.
WorldcatTo find archival materials, use Advanced Search and select “Archival Materials.” To find digital collections, uncheck “archival materials”, use “archive” as a subject term, and check “internet resource.”