Humanities

Subject Librarian: Amy Pass, [email protected], (518) 244-3106
See also: Humanities Research Guide
Academic Onefile – A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Elite – A multi-disciplinary database containing more than 2,100 journals.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection (HEB) – An online, fully searchable collection of 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences. Frequently cited in the literature, these titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies and include many prize-winning works. Users may also access online book reviews from the major journals.
Book Review Digest: 1903-1982 – Provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of fiction and non-fiction.
Chicago Manual of StyleSince 1906, the Style Manual for research in the Humanities.
Communication & Mass Media Complete – Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Credo Reference – An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also covers a wide-range of subject areas including Language, and Literature.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text – Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Ebook Central – A collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
Ebscohost Ebook Collection – A collection of over 50,000 ebooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Humanities International CompleteComprehensive coverage of the humanities with full-text content from sources around the world.
JSTOR Language & Literature  – This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian, and German.
Literary Reference CenterA literary database that combines information from books, monographs, reference works and journals.
MLA International Bibliography – A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association.
Oxford English Dictionary Online – Provides online access to the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary and 3-volume Additions Series.
Proquest CentralComprehensive research databases covering nearly every academic discipline.
Proquest Literature & Language – A subset of 4 databases covering literature & language.
Sage CatalogOnline catalog of books, journals, media & archive material
Sage Journal Portal – Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including Language & Literature and Journalism & Communications.