Law & Public Administration

Subject Librarian: Regina Vertone, [email protected], 292-1760
See also: Criminal Justice & Law Research Guide
See also: Organization Management Research Guide
Academic Onefile – A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Elite – A multi-disciplinary database containing more than 2,100 journals.
Credo Reference – Background information on topics, from online reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and more. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books including law titles.
Ebook Central – A collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
Ebscohost Ebook Collection – A collection of over 50,000 ebooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text – Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
GPO Monthly CatalogU.S. government publications.
Military & Government Collection – Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service – A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Nexis Uni – Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History – Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering for the first time in one reference work the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.
Oyez ProjectAn unofficial online multimedia archive of the Supreme Court of the United States. The website “aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court” since October 1955.” The website also includes biographical information and other material to place Supreme Court cases in context.
PAIS Index – Covers issues in public debate, world affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, from a wide variety of international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. Includes PAIS International (current file covering 1972 to present), and PAIS Archive (published 1915-1976).
Proquest Central Comprehensive research databases covering nearly every academic discipline. Includes:

  • Criminal Justice Database – Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and trends. It includes scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant to this field.
SCOTUSblog – A law blog written by lawyers, law professors, and law students about the Supreme Court. The site tracks cases before the Court from the certiorari stage through the merits stage. The site live blogs as the Court announces opinions and grants cases, and sometimes has information on the Court’s actions published before either the Court or any other news source does. The site frequently hosts symposiums with leading experts on the cases before the Court. The site comprehensively covers all of the cases argued before the Court and maintains an archive of the briefing and other documents in each case.
Social Science Premium Collection – Search across a range of ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases, covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice. Includes Criminology Collection.
Thomas – Library of Congress portal to legislative activity of Congress.
WestlawNext – Legal database, includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.