Social Science

Subject Librarian:  Christopher White, [email protected], 244-4521
See also: Forensic Science Research Guide
See also: International and Globalization Research Guide
See also: Political Science Research Guide
See also: Sociology Research Guide
Academic Onefile – A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Elite – A multi-disciplinary database containing more than 2,100 journals.
Applied Social Sciences Index and AbstractsIndex and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text – Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Ebook Central – A collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
Ebscohost Ebook Collection – A collection of over 50,000 ebooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Google Scholar – Scholarly information on the web.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences – Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service – A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
PAIS Index – Covers issues in public debate, world affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, from a wide variety of international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. Includes PAIS International (current file covering 1972 to present), and PAIS Archive (published 1915-1976).
Proquest Social Sciences – A collection of 14 databases covering the social sciences.
Sage Publications – A collection of over 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods Video Collection – Contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more–covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Science Direct – A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences & humanities.
Social Science Premium Collection – Search across a range of ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases, covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice
Social Services Abstracts – Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts – Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women & Social MovementsResource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women’s history, organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.