Congratulations to 2018 Scire Scholars Award Winners

The Scire Scholars Award, created in Spring of 2014 by the former Dean of Sage College of Albany, Joanne Curran, acknowledges high-performing scholars in the academic programs at the college.  Faculty members in each of the programs nominate a single scholar from their departments who demonstrates high levels of academic achievement and scholarship.  

The use of the Latin word, scire, meaning “to know”, is taken from part of the college’s motto:

Esse· Scire· Facere

To Be · To Know · To Do

The honor of “Scire Scholar” is accompanied by the purchase of a book for the library’s collection in the subject area of each of the programs of nominated student scholars.  Electronic books contain a message in our online library catalog identifying the book as purchased to honor a particular Scire student.  Traditional printed books contain a book label commemorating the Scire Scholar’s name, department and degree in addition to the library catalog dedication. Scire Scholars receive a commemorative medal which can be worn at all future academic processions.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 Scire Awards:

SCA Award Winners:

Jennifer Gray, Accounting, B.S.

Janneke Doedee, Applied Biology, B.S.

Jami Frosell, Art: Graphic & Media Design, B.F.A.

Ayleia Shields, Art: Photography, B.F.A.

Emily Hill, Art: Interior Design, B.F.A.

Kevin Saar, Business Administration, B.B.A.

Slade Feeney, Law and Society, B.S.

Jeffrey Muller, Physical Education, B.S.

Karlee Shields, Public Affairs and Public Policy, B.S.

Carlos Cabrera, Writing & Contemporary Thought, B.S.

Saad Hashiem, Computer Info Systems, B.S.

SPCE Award Winners:

Amanda Wooddell, Accounting, B.S.

Brea-Anne Garahan, Business Administration, B.B.A.

Catherine Faulkner, Nursing, B.S.

Amy Roberts, Psychology, B.S.