Persistent links are stable URLs that will not change over time. If your course materials link to articles in the Sage Library holdings, the URLs must be formatted as persistent links. A persistent link begins with the proxy string, ensuring the article can be accessesd both on- and off-campus.
Direct links to Sage Library e-resources must start with this proxy prefix:
https://sagecolleges.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
An example of a persistent link made up of two parts: the proxy string followed by the article URL:
Persistent links are stable URLs that will not change over time. They will work whether a student is clicking the link on or off campus.
Persistent links also help ensure that we comply with copyright law. It is best to send students a persistent link URL directing them to an online article, instead of distributing a PDF or hard copy, which may violate publisher copyright.
Persistent links also help ensure that we comply with copyright law. It is best to send students a persistent link URL directing them to an online article, instead of distributing a PDF or hard copy, which may violate publisher copyright.
There are three options for creating a new persistent link:
OPTION 1:
Locate the item in Quick Search, and copy/paste the “permanent link” URL. See the next section for instructions.
OPTION 2:
Locate the item in a Sage Library database, and follow the directions below to find/copy the persistent link provided by the database. Make sure this link contains the proxy string.
Click on the database platform name below for instructions on retrieving a persistent link:
ProQuest EBSCOhost Ovid
OPTION 3:
Copy/paste the article's DOI at the end of the proxy string. DOI instructions.
OPTION 1:
Locate the item in Quick Search, and copy/paste the “permanent link” URL. See the next section for instructions.
OPTION 2:
Locate the item in a Sage Library database, and follow the directions below to find/copy the persistent link provided by the database. Make sure this link contains the proxy string.
Click on the database platform name below for instructions on retrieving a persistent link:
ProQuest EBSCOhost Ovid
OPTION 3:
Copy/paste the article's DOI at the end of the proxy string. DOI instructions.
For ANY resource in the Library collection, you can use the 'permanent link' generated in the QuickSearch record.
This will bring students to the QuickSearch search result for that item, where they would follow the "Full Text Online" link to view the full text.
TO FIND THE QUICKSEARCH PERSISTENT LINK:
This will bring students to the QuickSearch search result for that item, where they would follow the "Full Text Online" link to view the full text.
TO FIND THE QUICKSEARCH PERSISTENT LINK:
ProQuest databases provide a complete persistent link in each item record. When viewing the article record in ProQuest,
click on the "Abstract/Details" link, then scroll down to find the "Document URL" listed toward the bottom of the page.
This is the complete persistent link, and no changes need to be made.
click on the "Abstract/Details" link, then scroll down to find the "Document URL" listed toward the bottom of the page.
This is the complete persistent link, and no changes need to be made.
 |
Chris White Systems Librarian [email protected] 518-244-4521 |