Subject Specialist

Librarian


Chris White
Office: Troy Library
 Email: [email protected]
 Phone: (518)244-4521
 

Subject Specialist

Librarian


Lisa Brainard
Director of Libraries
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (518)244-2430

Ask Us

Ask A Librarian

 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431


 

By email:

[email protected]

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Tips

  Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
  5. For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

Database and Catalog Searching

Find Background Information

Find Background Information

 
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

 
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
LINKED FULL TEXT
PDF Full Text

The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Find Books

 

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:

A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.

 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Browse Books by Call Number

Browsing Creative Arts Therapy Books

  The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Creative Arts in Therapy books can be found in the following sections:
 
GV1-1860 Recreation. Leisure
GV1580-1799.4 Dancing
GV 1588 Philosophy (and theory)
GV 1589 Study and teaching
HM Sociology
HM1001-1281 Social psychology
M Music
ML Literature on music
ML3820 Physiological aspects of music
ML3919-3920 Moral influence of music. Theraputic use of music
MT Instruction and Study
N61-72 Theory. Philosophy. Aesthetics of the visual arts
NB1-1952 Sculpture
NC1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND25-3416 Painting
PN2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
PN2061-2071
Art of acting
QM1-695 Human Anatomy
QP1-(981) Phsiology
RC581-951 Specialities of internal medicine
RC952-1245 Special situations and conditions
RD792 – RD811 Orthopedic surgery, physical rehabilitation
RJ499-507 Mental disorders. Child psychiatry
RM695-893 Physical medicine. Physical therapy. Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy
RM930-931 Rehabilitation therapy
RM950 Rehabilitation technology
RZ400-408 Mental healing
Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

  There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

  
Click Image to Enlarge
Citing Sources

Citing Sources

 

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
 

Citation Management Software

Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.

RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.



Quick links to other popular citation managers:
Getting Started

Getting Started

  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, start the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, start with  Academic Search Elite or Proquest Central. For other relevant sources, see list of All Items by Source below.
  4. To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. 
All Items by Source

Background Information

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.

Article Databases Specific to Discipline

Art Full Text
In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.
 
PsycARTICLES
A source of full-text scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by APA and allied organizations.
Psychiatry Online
An online collection of key resources for mental health professionals. Includes DSM-V.
PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.

Article Databases in Related Disciplines

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
CINAHL
Provides indexing for 5,500 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.

Article Databases Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google.  Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  
  • Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
  • For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.

Proquest Central
 Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.
QuickSearch
Summon database will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."



 
Sage Premier Journal Collection
This journal collection from Sage Publications includes more than 950 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in disciplines ranging from Business, Humanities, and Social Sciences to Science, Technology and Medicine.

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Web Sites - Psychology

American Psychological Association
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 122,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.
American Society of Group Therapy and Psychodrama
First and oldest organization in Psychodrama, Sociometry and Group Psychotherapy in the United States as well as Internationally. 

Web Sites - Visual Arts in Therapy

American Art Therapy Association (AATA)
A not-for-profit, non-partisan, professional, and educational organization dedicated to the growth and development of the art therapy profession. Founded in 1969, the American Art Therapy Association is one of the world’s leading art therapy membership organizations.
Art Therapy Credentials Board
The mission of the Art Therapy Credentials Board is to protect the public by promoting the competent and ethical practice of art therapy through the credentialing of art therapy professionals.
Art Therapy Research
Gives important information for anyone looking to begin researching art therapy topics. The site offers important areas of research, research questions, and important areas of study involving art therapy.
Art Therapy: American Cancer Society
Information on the Art therapy profession from the American Cancer Society.
National Art Exhibitions by the Mentally Ill (NAEMI)
Displays art produced by individuals, usually self-taught and without any formal artistic training, whose work arises from an intense, innate personal vision.
National Coalition of Creative Arts Therapies Associations (NCCATA)
Coalition includes Art therapy, Dance/Movement therapy, Drama therapy, Music therapy, and Poetry therapy.
National Guild for Community Arts Education
Supports and advances lifelong learning opportunities in the arts. The guild fosters the creation and development of community arts education organizations by providing research and information resources, professional development, networking opportunities, funding, and advocacy on behalf of the field.
New York Art Therapy Association (NYATA)
New York Chapter of the American Art Therapy Association.
The Art Therapy Blog
Provides articles and news concerning developments and considerations in art therapy practice. The blog also provides lesson inspiration for a variety of patient types, resources for art therapy education and degrees, videos and testimonials of therapists and patients, and more.

Web Sites - Music Therapy

American Music Therapy Association (AMTA)
AMTA is committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in support of the music therapy profession.
American Music Therapy Association for Students (AMTAS)
AMTAS seeks to rovide both students and professionals with valuable resources that will allow for them to continue developing the foundation of knowledge they have established thusfar in their careers, so that they may continue to grow and develop along side the role of music therapy in our growing world. 
Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT)
CBMT is the only organization to certify music therapists to practice music therapy nationally. The mission of the Certification Board for Music Therapists is to ensure a standard of excellence in the development, implementation, and promotion of an accredited certification program for safe and competent music therapy practice.
Music Therapy Research Blog
This site is aimed for the working music therapy clinician who has the goal of maintaining evidence-based practice.
New England Region of the American Music Therapy Association
Regional assocition of the American Music Therapy Association (AMTA). which advances public awareness of the benefits of music therapy and increase access to quality music therapy services in a rapidly changing world.

Web Sites - Dance/Movement Therapy

American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA)
Professional association for dance movement therapy, which is the psychotherapeutic use of movement and dance to support intellectual, emotional, and motor functions of the body. As a modality of the creative arts therapies, DMT looks at the correlation between movement and emotion.  
American Dance Therapy Association Resources
Consists of useful links for, research materials, webinars, information on government affairs, and advocacy.
International Expressive Arts Therapy Association (IEATA)
An inclusive, culturally diverse organization that supports expressive arts therapists, artists, educators, consultants and others using integrative, multimodal arts processes for personal and community growth and transformation.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
A resource of music, theater, and dance information from the Library of Congress.

Web Sites - Theater/Drama Therapy

Creative Alternatives of New York
Through the use of drama therapy and creative expression in a group setting, CANY helps children and adults expand their self-concept, imagine new life possibilities and build the social and emotional tools they need to live meaningful lives. This site also contains conference recordings, useful links to resources, advocacy information, and event planning.
North American Drama Therapy Association (NADTA)
Maintains requirements that must be met to qualify as a registered drama therapist (RDT). NADTA promotes drama therapy through information and advocacy.