Subject Specialist
 Librarian


Regina Vertone
Office: Albany Library
 Email: [email protected]
 Phone: (518)292-1784
 

Ask Us

Ask A Librarian

 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431


 

By email:

[email protected]

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Tips

  Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
  5. For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

Database and Catalog Searching

Find Background Information

Find Background Information

 
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

 
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
LINKED FULL TEXT
PDF Full Text

The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Find Books

 

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:

A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.

 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

  There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

  
Click Image to Enlarge
Citing Sources

Citing Sources

 

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
 

Citation Management Software

Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.

RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.



Quick links to other popular citation managers:
Professional Associations

Professional Associations

American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management 
http://www.aaham.org/

American Hospital Association (AHA)
http://www.aha.org/

Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals
http://www.ahcap.org/

Health Care Administrators Association  (HCAA)
http://www.hcaa.org/
Getting Started

Getting Started

  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, start the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, start with CINHAL and ProQuest Business. For other relevant sources, see list of All Items by Source below.
  4. To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. 
All Items by Source

Background Information

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Article Databases Specific to Discipline

ABI/Inform Dateline
Business, Economics: local and regional business publications
ABI/Inform Global
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal
Business Insights: Essentials
Business reference information, including company fundamentals and histories, investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles and market share data.
Business Source Premier
Country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
CINAHL
Provides indexing for 5,500 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Health Reference Center Academic
Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
Nursing & Allied Health
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
ProQuest Health & Medicine
A subset of 11 proquest databases covering the health sciences.
ProQuest Medical Library
Comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature.
Regional Business News
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Sage Journal Portal - Business & Economics
Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including Business & Economics.

Article Databases in Related Disciplines

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the finanical services industry, banking, and industry trends.
Nexis Uni
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Proquest Business
A subset of Proquest databases covering business and related subjects.
PubMed
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Article Databases Multidisciplinary

Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google.  Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  
  • Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
  • For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.

Proquest Central
 Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.
QuickSearch
Summon database will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."



 

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.

Statistics/Data

Albany County Health Data
Data and reports from the Albany County Department of Health. 
HealthyPeople.gov
Data from the US Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.
Hoover's Company Records
Corporate data, industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
National Center for Health Statistics
Statistics from the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention.
New York State Statistical Yearbook.
New York's Statistics at Your Fingertips — a database for researchers in governmental functions such as education, transportation, and finances.
New York State Statistics
Data and reports from The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government, which is a public policy think tank founded in 1981 that conducts cutting-edge research and analysis to inform lasting solutions to the problems facing New York State and the nation.
NYS Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS)
The New York State Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS) were developed in 2012, and are annually updated to consolidate and provide information regarding health indicators in the County Health Assessment Indicators (CHAI) for all communities in New York.
NYS Department of Health - Data & Reports
New York Department of Health source for data and reports.
Snapshot Series
International market research overviews.
United States Census
Bureau of Cenus data finding tool data.census .gov replaces America Fact Finder. 

Use this site to locate census tract numbers for specific neighborhoods. Nsg 402 & 408, start here!  Click on these links in sequence to get to census tract data:
  • Advanced Search below Search Box.
  • Geographies under Browse Filters.
  • Tract

USA.com
USA.com is your local guide to cities, towns, and neighborhoods in the United States, providing easy to use and comprehensive local services and information, business information and population demographics, travel and tourism, directory services, and local business and consumer services. 

Web Sites

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Pan American Health Organization
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) works with the countries of the Americas to improve the health and quality of life of their populations.