Librarian
Chris White
Office: Troy Library
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (518)244-4521
Ask A Librarian
|
|
In person: |
 |
By phone: (518) 244-2431 |
|
|
By email: |
|
|
By online chat: |
|
|
Schedule an appointment with a Research Librarian |
Keyword Search Tips
Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.- Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
- Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
- Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
- Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
- For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:
Evaluating Sources
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing LabCopies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Citation Management Software
Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.
Quick links to other popular citation managers:
- Mendeley (free)
- Zotero (free)
- EndNote
- EndNote Basic (free version)
Article Databases Specific to Discipline
Nexis Uni
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search the entire collection of news sources, or select from a subset of global or U.S. databases
Search the entire collection of news sources, or select from a subset of global or U.S. databases
Regional Business News
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
TimesMachine
- Over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared. Browse the newspaper archives, from Volume 1, Number 1 through 2002.
- Subscription provided free to all Russell Sage College students, staff, and faculty.
- If you have not done so, create a NY Times account here.
Article Databases Multidisciplinary
General Onefile
A general periodical database containing thousands of periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources.
A general periodical database containing thousands of periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources.
America's Historical Newspapers
A collection of historical New York State newspapers from 1730 to 1913.
A collection of historical New York State newspapers from 1730 to 1913.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A digital collection of the Library of Congress that provides access to America's historic newspapers from 1836 to 1922.
A digital collection of the Library of Congress that provides access to America's historic newspapers from 1836 to 1922.
Gale Onefile: News
U.S. and World Newspapers & Media. Includes some newspapers published in New York State; for example, the New York times and the New York Post.
U.S. and World Newspapers & Media. Includes some newspapers published in New York State; for example, the New York times and the New York Post.
New York State Newspapers
Database provides access to some newspapers in New York State, including the New York Post and the New York Times.
Database provides access to some newspapers in New York State, including the New York Post and the New York Times.
New York Times
If you have not done so, create a NY Times account here. Subscription provided free to all Russell Sage College students, staff, and faculty.
- Today's Edition -- Login here.
- 1980 - PRESENT -- Click here.
- 1851 - 2002 -- Login to NY Times and then open the TimesMachine here.
- Faculty may also want to register to access the NYT in Education website, which provides educators with classroom resources such as discussion questions and co-curricular activities related to news stories.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers in addition to television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers in addition to television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Nineteenth Century Newspapers
Primary source newspaper content from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among others.
Primary source newspaper content from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among others.
The Times (London) Digital Archive
Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record."
Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record."
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
Global Breaking Newswires
Global Breaking Newswires is a library news product which provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources
Global Breaking Newswires is a library news product which provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources
U.S. Newsstream (1980 - current)
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format