Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Tips

  Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
  5. For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

Database and Catalog Searching

Find Background Information

Find Background Information

 
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

 
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
LINKED FULL TEXT
PDF Full Text

The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Find Books

 

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:

A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.

 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Browse Books by Call Number

Browsing Physical Therapy Books

  The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection.  The majority of biology books can be found in the following sections:
 The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection.  The majority of physical therapy books can be found in the following sections:
 
RC581-951 Specialities of internal medicine
RC952-1245 Special situations and conditions
RD792 – RD811 Orthopedic surgery, physical rehabilitation
RM214-258 Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks
RM259 Vitamin therapy
RM695-893 Physical medicine. Physical therapy. Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy
RM930-931 Rehabilitation therapy
RM950 Rehabilitation technology
Useful Websites

Useful Websites

 

Statistical Resources

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Statistics- The CDC website displays statistics on a variety of diseases and conditions. The site also provides information on healthy living as well as materials to help track conditions and at risk behaviors.

Cornell University's Disability Statistics- A comprehensive data set of disablity statistics in the United States.

US Dept. of Labor - Physical Therapists- Descriptive information on the Physical Therapy profession including: median salary, job outlook, employment changes, and educational requirements.

 

Organizational Resources

American Physical Therapy Association Evidence and Research- Offers information and research tools on evidence-based practice. This site also includes links to free physical therapy databases and access to the Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association which provides recent full-text articles, podcasts and videos.

National Institutes of Health Image Bank- The NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images, and various exterior images.

National Rehabilitation Information Center- The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). The organization catalogs, and disseminates articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by (NIDRR).

 

Educational / Interactive Resources

CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)- CUErgo presents information from research studies and class work by students and faculty in the Cornell Human Factors and Ergonomics Research Group (CHFERG). CHFERG  focuses on ways to enhance usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces to enhance people's comfort, performance, and health.

Human Anatomy Online- Interactive online anatomy resource.

KhanAcademy: Anatomy and Physiology- Educational resource for understanding different aspects of anatomy and physiology. The written information is supported with multimedia and images.

PhysicalTherapist- A general Physical Therapy resource that offers articles, jobs, and educational resources about the profession.

Physical Therapy Web- Blog posts and articles by physical therapists on a variety of subject from the field. The site is also a resource for jobs and organizational information.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)PEDro is a free database of over 29,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Researching APTA and Physical Therapy History-This source is recommended by APTA's Information Resources Department for those interested in researching (or preserving) APTA or physical therapy history.

TripTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

  There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

  
Click Image to Enlarge
Citing Sources

Citing Sources

 

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
 

Citation Management Software

Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.

RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.



Quick links to other popular citation managers:
Getting Started

Getting Started

  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, start the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, start with  Academic Search EliteCINAHL, or Science Direct. For other relevant sources, see list of All Items By Source below.
  4. To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. 
All Items by Source

Article Databases Specific to Discipline

CINAHL
Provides indexing for 5,500 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
[email protected]
A selection of high quality medical and scientific journals from top publishers worldwide.
Nursing & Allied Health
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.
ProQuest Health & Medicine
A subset of 11 proquest databases covering the health sciences.
PubMed
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more.  Formerly called the Physical Education Index.
Visible Body 2021 Premium
Includes 3 apps, Human Anatomy Atlas 2021, Muscle Premium, and Physiology & Pathology. This comprehensive package of 3D interactive modules illustrates body systems, structures, common injuries and diseases.

Article Databases in Related Disciplines

SPORTDiscus
Premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content for essential journals in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Article Databases Multidisciplinary

Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google.  Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  
  • Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
  • For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.

Proquest Central
 Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.
QuickSearch
Summon database will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."



 

AudioVisual

Human Anatomy Atlas Online 2021

A comprehensive, 3D, all-body systems reference app that allows users to view gross and microanatomy models, along with associated encyclopedic information. 
atlas-2021-perpetual.png 


Muscle Premium
A comprehensive, 3D musculoskeletal reference app that includes common injuries and conditions. 
VisibleBody_Muscle_2018.png
Physiology & Pathology
An interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body. 
pathophys_app icon_perpetual_90_rounded.png

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.