Librarian
Chris White
Office: Troy Library
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (518)244-4521
Ask A Librarian
|
|
In person: |
 |
By phone: (518) 244-2431 |
|
|
By email: |
|
|
By online chat: |
|
|
Schedule an appointment with a Research Librarian |
Keyword Search Tips
Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.- Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
- Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
- Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
- Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
- For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:
Find Journal Articles
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books
Start with WorldCat to find books and media.
RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.
To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
eBooks
All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.
eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
Not finding what you need?
Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.Evaluating Sources
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing LabCopies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Citation Management Software
Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.
Quick links to other popular citation managers:
- Mendeley (free)
- Zotero (free)
- EndNote
- EndNote Basic (free version)
Getting Started
- To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
- To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, start the Libraries Catalog.
- To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, start with QuickSearch or Academic Search Elite. For other relevant sources, see list of All Items by Source below.
- To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Article Databases Specific to Discipline
Article Databases in Related Disciplines
Article Databases Multidisciplinary
Article Databases in Related Disciplines
Article Databases Multidisciplinary
Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Article Databases Specific to Discipline
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
PAIS International
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
ProQuest Social Sciences
A collection of 14 databases covering the social sciences including Canadian Business & Current Affairs database, Career & Technical Education database, Criminal Justice database, Education database, INnia database, Library Science database, Linguistics database, Political Science database, Religion database, Research Library database, Social Sciences database, Social Science Premium Collection database, Sociolgy database and theSports Medicine & Education Index.
A collection of 14 databases covering the social sciences including Canadian Business & Current Affairs database, Career & Technical Education database, Criminal Justice database, Education database, INnia database, Library Science database, Linguistics database, Political Science database, Religion database, Research Library database, Social Sciences database, Social Science Premium Collection database, Sociolgy database and theSports Medicine & Education Index.
Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts and indexing of the internaional serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Citations, abstracts and indexing of the internaional serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Article Databases in Related Disciplines
GreenFILE
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment-- including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment-- including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR Language & Literature
This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian and German.
This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian and German.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Nexis Uni
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Covers the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.
Covers the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.
Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.
WestlawNext
A legal database that includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.
A legal database that includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.
Article Databases Multidisciplinary
Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google. Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google. Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
- Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
- For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.
QuickSearch
Quick Search will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."
Quick Search will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."
Sage Premier Journal Collection
This journal collection from Sage Publications includes more than 950 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in disciplines ranging from Business, Humanities, and Social Sciences to Science, Technology and Medicine.
This journal collection from Sage Publications includes more than 950 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in disciplines ranging from Business, Humanities, and Social Sciences to Science, Technology and Medicine.
New York Times
If you have not done so, create a NY Times account here. Subscription provided free to all Russell Sage College students, staff, and faculty.
- Today's Edition -- Login here.
- 1980 - PRESENT -- Click here.
- 1851 - 2002 -- Login to NY Times and then open the TimesMachine here.
- Faculty may also want to register to access the NYT in Education website, which provides educators with classroom resources such as discussion questions and co-curricular activities related to news stories.
Nineteenth Century Newspapers
Primary source newspaper content from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among others.
Primary source newspaper content from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among others.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition.
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition.
ILOSTAT: International Labour Organization Statistical Data
ILOSTAT has a wealth of information on labour statistics, from free access to almost 100 million data points to extensive statistical guidance. Below are tips on getting started with finding data and statistical resources.
ILOSTAT has a wealth of information on labour statistics, from free access to almost 100 million data points to extensive statistical guidance. Below are tips on getting started with finding data and statistical resources.
New York State Statistical Yearbook.
New York's Statistics at Your Fingertips — a database for researchers in governmental functions such as education, transportation, and finances.
New York's Statistics at Your Fingertips — a database for researchers in governmental functions such as education, transportation, and finances.
New York State Statistics
Data and reports from The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government, which is a public policy think tank founded in 1981 that conducts cutting-edge research and analysis to inform lasting solutions to the problems facing New York State and the nation.
Data and reports from The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government, which is a public policy think tank founded in 1981 that conducts cutting-edge research and analysis to inform lasting solutions to the problems facing New York State and the nation.
United States Census
Bureau of Cenus data finding tool data.census .gov replaces America Fact Finder.
Use this site to locate census tract numbers for specific neighborhoods. Nsg 402 & 408, start here! Click on these links in sequence to get to census tract data:
Bureau of Cenus data finding tool data.census .gov replaces America Fact Finder.
Use this site to locate census tract numbers for specific neighborhoods. Nsg 402 & 408, start here! Click on these links in sequence to get to census tract data:
- Advanced Search below Search Box.
- Geographies under Browse Filters.
- Tract
USA.com
USA.com is your local guide to cities, towns, and neighborhoods in the United States, providing easy to use and comprehensive local services and information, business information and population demographics, travel and tourism, directory services, and local business and consumer services.
USA.com is your local guide to cities, towns, and neighborhoods in the United States, providing easy to use and comprehensive local services and information, business information and population demographics, travel and tourism, directory services, and local business and consumer services.