Subject Specialist
 Librarian


Regina Vertone
Office: Albany Library
 Email: [email protected]
 Phone: (518)292-1784
 

Ask Us

Ask A Librarian

 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431


 

By email:

[email protected]

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Tips

  Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
  5. For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

Database and Catalog Searching

Find Background Information

Find Background Information

 
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

 
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
LINKED FULL TEXT
PDF Full Text

The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Find Books

 

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:

A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.

 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Browse Books by Call Number
Browsing Graphic Design Books
 
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Graphic Design books can be found in the following sections:
 
 
N Visual Arts
NC1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
NC760-825 Special subjects
NC845-915 Graphic art materials (drawing)
NC977-1003 Commercial art. Advertising art
NC1920-1940 Copying, enlarging and reduction of drawings
Useful Websites

Useful Websites

 
Informational Sites, Blogs, and Tutorials

Dewsignrfix- Free templates, tutorials, examples and aticles related to graphic design.

TheDesignBlog- A design blog that also offers free downloads, tutorials, and sources for design inspiration.

Ultralinx Graphic Design- Offers graphic design themed articles, current trends, and design ideas.

YouTheDesigner- An informal graphic design blog that also offers a graphic design terms glossary, interactive tutorials, free templates, and design materials.

Resources Suggested by Graphic Design Sites

Complex Style's 20 Online Resources Every Graphic Designer Should Know

Agile Designers Recommended Resources- over 1000 suggested resources for graphic designers.

Creative Bloq's Graphic Design Resources- 2500 free resources for graphic designers.
Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

  There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

  
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Citing Sources

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
 

Citation Management Software

Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.

RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.



Quick links to other popular citation managers:
Getting Started

Getting Started

To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
  1. To find BOOKS and MEDIA owned by any library, search WorldCat. WorldCat will provide a link to the RSC Library Catalog record for the item if RSC Libraries owns it. If RSC does not own the item, use the Sage Interlibrary Loan Link that appear  in the WorldCat record  under External Resources to request  the item.  Requested books generally arrive within 5 - 10 days.
  2. To search for JOURNAL OR MAGAZINE ARTICLES, start with  Quick Search. For other elevant sources, see list of All Items by Source below.
  3. For NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, see the Newspapers Subjec Guide.
  4. For STATISTICAL DATA, see the Statistical Data Subject Guide.
  5. To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. 
All Items by Source

Article Databases Specific to Discipline

Art Full Text
In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.
 
Art Journals
Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including art, architecture & applied arts.
Arts and Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ArtStor
The Artstor Digital Library features an unparalleled range of images from some of the worlds leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.

Article Databases Multidisciplinary

Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google.  Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  
  • Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
  • For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.

Proquest Central
 Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.
QuickSearch
Summon database will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."



 
Sage Premier Journal Collection
This journal collection from Sage Publications includes more than 950 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in disciplines ranging from Business, Humanities, and Social Sciences to Science, Technology and Medicine.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Newspapers

New York Times
If you have not done so, create a NY Times account hereSubscription provided free to all Russell Sage College students, staff, and faculty. 
 

Bibliographies

Complex Style's 20 Online Resources Every Graphic Designer Should Know
Compilation of important Online Resources for Graphic Design.
Creative Bloq's Graphic Design Resources
2500 free resources for graphic designers.

Encyclopedias

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
More than 1,000 articles spanning the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome as well as eariler Minoan, Cycladic, Helladic (including Mycenaean) and Etruscan cultures.
Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Images

Google Art Project
Google has partinered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world's cultural treasures online.
My Modern Met
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection of digital images.                                                                                                                                                            

Web Sites

Agile Designers Recommended Resources
Over 1000 suggested resources for graphic designers.
Artists Network
Tutorials, galleries, tips, and how-tos for a variety of media.
Artshow
Art lessons and tutorials for painting, drawing, sculpting and printmaking.
Artsy
Artsy features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place.
Dewsignrfix
Free templates, tutorials, examples and aticles related to graphic design.
The British Museum
Search for collections, research projects, and view art related blog entries from the British Museum.
TheDesignBlog
A design blog that also offers free downloads, tutorials, and sources for design inspiration.
Ultralinx Graphic Design
Offers graphic design themed articles, current trends, and design ideas.
YouTheDesigner
An informal graphic design blog that also offers a graphic design terms glossary, interactive tutorials, free templates, and design materials.

Professional Associations