Subject Specialist
 Librarian


Regina Vertone
Office: Albany Library
 Email: [email protected]
 Phone: (518)292-1784
 

Ask Us

Ask A Librarian

 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431


 

By email:

[email protected]

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Tips

  Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
  5. For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

Database and Catalog Searching

Find Background Information

Find Background Information

 
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Find Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

 
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
LINKED FULL TEXT
PDF Full Text

The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Find Books

 

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:

A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.

 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Browse Books by Call Number

Browsing Nutrition Books

The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. While nutrition books can be found throughout the Libraries, the majority of nutrition books can be found in the following sections:
 
GT2853 Customs relating to foods and beverages
HD9000 – HD9019
Food supply, produce trade, grocery trade, beverage industry
QP141 – QP185.3
Nutrition and metabolism
QP53 – QP772
Minerals, proteins, amino acids, carbs, lipids, vitamins
QR115 – QR129
Food microbiology
RA645 .N87
Public health aspects of nutrition
RC620 – RC632
Nutritional and metabolic disease
RJ53 .P37
Parenteral nutrition for infants and children
RJ206 – RJ216
Nutrition and feeding of infants and children
RJ360 – RJ400
Metabolic and nutritional diseases of children, infants
RK281
Nutrition and dentistry
RM214 – RM267
Diet therapy and special foods
SB175 – SB177
Food crops
TP368 – TP684
Food processing and manufacture
TS1950 – TS1981
Animal products
TS2120 – TS2159
Cereals, grains, milling industry
TX341 – TX641
Nutrition, foods and food supply
TX642 – TX840
Cookery

In the Shea Learning Center (Troy Campus), these sections are located in the basement floor. In the SCA Learning Center, they can be found on the second floor.
Useful Websites

Useful and Reliable Internet Resouces Websites

 
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements Unrestricted Resource
Excellent source of information on dietary supplements. Information on specific supplements, citation databases and nutrient recommendations under "Health Information"

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Unrestricted Resource
Very comprehensive site offering a variety of online resources and recent news on food safety and applied nutrition.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans Unrestricted Resource
Information on different diets available and how to balance foods.

Food & Nutrition Information Center Unrestricted Resource
Provides a directory to accurate, credible and practical resources for consumers, professionals and educators.

Foodsafety.gov Unrestricted Resource
Provides links to information on safe food handling and storage.

National Guideline Clearinghouse Unrestricted Resource
Provides an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

Nutrient Data Laboratory Unrestricted Resource
Users can search for food ingredients by entering keywords into the database. Other general nutrient information is presented.

 Nutrition Tip Sheets Unrestricted Resource
Sponsored by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Tip sheets cover a wide range of topics providing nutrition facts along with healthy eating tips and recipes.

USDA Nutrient Database Unrestricted Resource
Allows users to get nutrient values on food along with percent RDA by gender.
Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

  There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

  
Click Image to Enlarge
Citing Sources

Citing Sources

 

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
 

Citation Management Software

Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.

RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.



Quick links to other popular citation managers:
Getting Started

Getting Started

  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, start the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, start with ProQuest Central or Science Direct. For other relevant sources, see list of All Items by Source below.
  4. To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. 
All Items by Source

Article Databases Specific to Discipline

CINAHL
Provides indexing for 5,500 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Health Reference Center Academic
Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
ProQuest Health & Medicine
A subset of 11 proquest databases covering the health sciences.
PubMed
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Article Databases in Related Disciplines

Visible Body 2021 Premium
Includes 3 apps, Human Anatomy Atlas 2021, Muscle Premium, and Physiology & Pathology. This comprehensive package of 3D interactive modules illustrates body systems, structures, common injuries and diseases.

Article Databases Multidisciplinary

Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google.  Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  
  • Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
  • For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.

Proquest Central
 Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.
QuickSearch
Summon database will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."



 

AudioVisual

Human Anatomy Atlas Online 2021

A comprehensive, 3D, all-body systems reference app that allows users to view gross and microanatomy models, along with associated encyclopedic information. 
atlas-2021-perpetual.png 


Physiology & Pathology
An interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body. 
pathophys_app icon_perpetual_90_rounded.png