Librarian
Regina Vertone
Office: Albany Library
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (518)292-1784
Ask A Librarian
|
|
In person: |
 |
By phone: (518) 244-2431 |
|
|
By email: |
|
|
By online chat: |
|
|
Schedule an appointment with a Research Librarian |
Keyword Search Tips
Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: smooth shading, cross-hatching, internal lines, linear style.- Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
- Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "wax casting and stone carving"
- Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "modelling in clay or wood carving"
- Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "lyrical abstraction"
- For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:
Find Background Information
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:
Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.
Find Journal Articles
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:
The Find Full Text symbol indicates that Sage may own the material, but it is housed in a different database or journal. Clicking this link will bring you to the article in full text, if owned by Sage.If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books
Start with WorldCat to find books and media.
RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.
To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
eBooks
All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.
eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
Not finding what you need?
Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.Browsing Occupational Therapy Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Occupational Therapy books can be found in the following sections:
| RC581-951 | Specialities of internal medicine |
| RC952-1245 | Special situations and conditions |
| RD792 – RD811 | Orthopedic surgery, physical rehabilitation |
| RM214-258 | Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks |
| RM259 | Vitamin therapy |
| RM695-893 | Physical medicine. Physical therapy. Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy |
| RM930-931 | Rehabilitation therapy |
| RM950 | Rehabilitation technology |
Useful Websites
Organizational ResourcesAgency for Healthcare Research and Quality- information for healthcare professionals, consumers, and policymakers. The site contains grant listings, research tools, programs, and statistics.
The American Occupational Therapy Foundation- this website shares occupational therapy resources, grants and scholarships, and recent news in the occupational therapy field.
National Rehabilitation Information Center- the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). The organization catalogs, and disseminates articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by (NIDRR).
Educational / Interactive Resources
AbleData - provides information about assistive technology products and rehabilitation equipment.Evidence-Based Occupational Therapy - the Evidence-Based Occupational Therapy Web-portal has been designed to provide strategies, knowledge, and resources to aid occupational therapists in finding out about and using evidence during their procedures.
MedLine Plus Medical Dictionary - dictionary for medical terms.
The New England Journal of Medicine Clinical Videos - videos outlining clinical procedures.
OTPlan - Occupational Therapy Plan is an activity idea resource for pediatric occupational therapy activities. Match skills you want to work on, with materials you have, to a detailed occupational therapy treatment activity.
Pediatric Occupational Therapy Activities, Ideas and Tips - comprehensive listing of activities for children using occupational therapy.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) - PEDro is a free database of over 29,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Statistical Resources
Centers for Disease Control Data and Statistics - this site offers data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed, with dynamically calculated statistics, charts and maps.Cornell University's Disability Statistics - a comprehensive data set of disablity statistics in the United States.
County Health Rankings - county specific data in fields such as: health behavior, clinical care statistics, social and economic factors, and physical environment.
Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index - the Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index is one of the most proven and relied upon statisitical measurements well-being in the world. This index provides global statistics as well as inclusive state-by-state statistics for the United States.
Advocacy
Advocates for Children of New York – A specific advocacy group for New York, the policies and initiatives page is very useful to see advocacy topics and agendas.
New York State Department of Health Early Intervention Program – Contains all types of information on early intervention in New York State including guidelines, statistics, webinars, laws, and training.
New York State Library Digital Collections – Digitized state documents from New York State’s Bureau of Early Intervention. Includes annual reports, publication, and future plans of the bureau.
Evaluating Sources
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing LabCopies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Citation Management Software
Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address. For more help with Refworks, click here.
Quick links to other popular citation managers:
- Mendeley (free)
- Zotero (free)
- EndNote
- EndNote Basic (free version)
Getting Started
- To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
- To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, start the Libraries Catalog.
- To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, start with Academic Search Elite or ProQuest Central. For other relevant sources, see list of All Items by Source below.
- To gain a better understanding of RESEARCH METHODS, see SAGE Research Methods Video Collection. which contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more -- covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Article Databases Specific to Discipline
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.
Journals@OVID
A selection of high quality medical and scientific journals from top publishers worldwide.
A selection of high quality medical and scientific journals from top publishers worldwide.
Nursing & Allied Health
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.
PubMed
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more. Formerly called the Physical Education Index.
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more. Formerly called the Physical Education Index.
Article Databases in Related Disciplines
Visible Body 2021 Premium
Includes 3 apps, Human Anatomy Atlas 2021, Muscle Premium, and Physiology & Pathology. This comprehensive package of 3D interactive modules illustrates body systems, structures, common injuries and diseases.
Includes 3 apps, Human Anatomy Atlas 2021, Muscle Premium, and Physiology & Pathology. This comprehensive package of 3D interactive modules illustrates body systems, structures, common injuries and diseases.
Article Databases Multidisciplinary
Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources
Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google. Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google. Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
- Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
- For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.
QuickSearch
Quick Search will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."
Quick Search will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."
Human Anatomy Atlas Online 2021
A comprehensive, 3D, all-body systems reference app that allows users to view gross and microanatomy models, along with associated encyclopedic information.
Muscle Premium
A comprehensive, 3D musculoskeletal reference app that includes common injuries and conditions.
A comprehensive, 3D musculoskeletal reference app that includes common injuries and conditions.
Physiology & Pathology
An interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body.
An interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.