A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free

Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
Children's Literature & Culture
Rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, showcasing innovative new publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature.
Digital Public Library of America
A portal that brings together the digital collections of libraries, archives and museum in order to provide open and coherent access.
Digital Schomburg

Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7. Users worldwide can find, in this virtual Schomburg Center, exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.


Google Scholar
Not to be confused with regular (and unreliable) Google.  Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  
  • Make use of the powerful "Cited By" feature.
  • For Interlibrary Loan, click on >> icons.

Hathitrust
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Humanities International Complete
Comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full-text content from sources around the world.
Internet Archive
Click here to continue to Internet Archive.

The  
Internet Archive is an American digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge". It provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books.   The Internet Archive is a fantastic resource but searching it  can induce delirium, for search tips, watch this video.
JSTOR Language & Literature
This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian and German.
MLA International Bibliography
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association.
New York Times
If you have not done so, create a NY Times account hereSubscription provided free to all Russell Sage College students, staff, and faculty. 
 
‚Äč

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Provides online access to the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary and 3-volume Additions Series.
ProQuest Language & Literature
A subset of four databases covering literature & language.
QuickSearch
Summon database will search all journal article databases at once. To make use of interlibrary loan, enter your search; on the results page, click "Add results beyond your library's collection."



 
Search Databases
Key to Icons
= Audio files
= Some full text
= Images
= OpenURL enabled

= Video files